If you are wondering whether it’s legal to be naked in your backyard, the answer will depend on the laws of your state.
Since most states in the United States have no clear laws about being naked in one’s own backyard, you will have to either call your local council or consult an attorney to find the answer.
However, if you live in one of the following eleven states, then being naked in your backyard will be considered indecent exposure and you may be charged with a fine, imprisonment, or even both! That’s because these states consider backyards as an area that’s easily viewable by the public. So like every other publicly visible area, being naked in it is seen as indecent exposure.
In the state of Colorado, section 18-7-301 of public indecency clearly states that an individual who exposes their private parts to someone in a manner that would offend or disturb them has violated the public indecency law. As a result of this violation, this person might be fined up to $500 or sentenced to jail for up to six months. But that’s for first-time offenders.
If the offender is not a first-timer, then the punishments become more severe. They will be charged with a class 1 misdemeanor that is punishable by up to 5,000 dollars and up to 18 months of prison time if they are convicted.
In Delaware, if you’re seen naked by your neighbor, you may be reported and charged for this crime. The crime of indecent exposure in Delaware is classified as a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of $500 or one month in jail.
That being said, if you expose your genitals or buttocks to another person in such a way that it alarms or startles them, you have committed the crime of Delaware code section 764. This crime is punishable by a fine of $2,300 and or up to one year in jail.
3. District of Columbia
In the District of Columbia, being naked in one’s yard isn’t considered a serious offense, and people who do so typically just receive a warning. However, if any person creates a lewd scene by exposing their private parts to perform a sexual act, even if in their own yard, the law under Section 2-1312 of the District of Columbia Official Code states severe punishments for them.
That, of course, has nothing to do with being naked in your yard — for which the worst-case scenario is a fine of $500.
The penalties in Alaska are divided into two degrees:
- Class A Misdemeanor: This happens if the reported person was seen naked by a minor. The punishment for this misdemeanor is up to one year of incarceration, a fine of $10,000, or both.
- Class B Misdemeanor: This happens if the reported person was seen naked by someone older than 15 years of age. The punishment for this misdemeanor is a fine of $2,000, ninety days in prison, or both.
The laws in Arizona are as strict as they come. Indecent exposure to someone below 15 years of age, even if in one’s own yard, is considered a class 6 felony. The minimum punishment is a couple of months of imprisonment.
In Arkansas, the penalty for being naked in your backyard is a one-year jail term or a fine of 2,500 dollars. But that’s just for first-time offenders. If a person is convicted of multiple offenses under this legislation, they can be sentenced to up to six years in prison and fined $10,000, or one of either.
According to sections, 13 V.S.A. §2601, the laws of Vermont state, “open and gross lewdness and lascivious behavior is a punishable crime.” If convicted, the offender will face a penalty of over 300 dollars or be sentenced to up to five years in jail. Furthermore, the presiding judge has the option to sentence the offender to pay a fine as well as do prison time.
The laws in Nebraska are a little different than the other states. The Nebraska section 28 – 806 on public indecency states that if an individual aged 18 or above is found guilty of the act of exposing their genitals in a publicly visible area, they may be penalized with a fine of $10,000 and may be sentenced to six months in jail. As for minors, they are let off with a warning to their legal guardians.
In California, the laws clearly state that a person found guilty of indecent exposure in their property can be charged with a fine of $1,000 and face up to three months of imprisonment.
Idaho is pretty serious about indecent exposure. First-time offenders typically pay a fine of $1,000, spend six months in county jail, or do both. People who have been convicted of the same crime in Idaho or another state within the last five years are given more severe punishments that include a jail sentence of up to ten years!
Although no clear punishment is stated, the Alabama Code Title 13A. Criminal Code § 13A-12-200.1 has made it illegal to be naked in any area that can be viewed by the public, including your yard.
Do you live in one of the eleven states discussed in this post? Then you shouldn’t ever be naked in your backyard. Otherwise, you risk facing a hefty fine, imprisonment, or even both for indecent exposure. If you live in an area other than those eleven states, then you should call a local council or city hall to find out the laws on indecent exposure in your area.
All that being said, if you really want to be naked in the comfort of your yard, then you should hire an expert constructor to build fences and other structures that will render people outside unable to see into your yard.